CHAPTER 15 Continued

Posted: June 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

transformation definition

After a nights sleep, I still couldn’t believe it. I smiled as I pulled the duvet over my shoulders. My mother really was something else. For a strange reason i felt comforted by that e mail. It was like getting a gift from my mother. A small token that made my memories feel real again. I closed my eyes as an open invitation to sleep , accepted immediately.

When I opened my eyes again, I was alone in bed. I could hear faint voices downstairs. Yusuf and Suhayl? I wondered. i swung my legs over the side of the bed and found the floor. I sat up and took a deep breath. Ok, Shower , dress , then face the future I thought.

Half an hour later I walked down the stairs to the kitchen. Only Elizabeth is in the kitchen. “Good, Morning Elizabeth” I say quietly to her. “did Yusuf go out?” I ask her. “No Ma dam, Mr. Yusuf is in the study” she replies with the same audibility sensing my discreetness. I nod my response. “Please bring my tea out to the patio, Elizebath” I say as I walk towards the half opened doors. Suhayl is sitting at the table reading the paper alone, and even from behind looks a lot better than last night.

“Assalamu Alaikum” I say as I walk up from behind him. He startles slightly and turns around anxiously.

“Wa Alaikum Salaam” he replies softly and humbly, then hides his face behind the paper again. He is dressed in Yusuf’s jeans and T-shirt. I sit down across him and say nothing. He slowly drops the paper and folds it at his side.

“Im so sorry, Hasina. I don’t know what I was thinking” he begins. The conversations sounds like de ja vu and I cant do it. I hold up my hand in front of him indicating that I want him to stop talking.

“Listen, before you say anything, I want you to know that I don’t blame you for anything” I began. “Whatever the reasons were to get in you into that, I want you to know that we are here to help you overcome it”.

He looked down ashamed. “I spoke to Yusuf this morning, and he told me what was decided. Im sorry to put you guys through this” he said shaking his head. “About staying here, I can’t..”

“Yes you can and yes you will” I said forcefully. “Look, I want to be involved in your life, and I know I haven’t been a great sister but I want to try” I pleaded.

He takes a sigh, “Hasina, I don’t what I am doing half the time” he says out of nowhere. “The business is one thing, then there’s the girls, and the cars, and before I know whats happening…” he trails off. I put my hand on his shoulder. “it’s ok, we will figure it out” I say and he smiles at me.

breakfast on patio

family love

Leave a Reply

