CHAPTER 14 (continued)

Posted: June 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

transformation definition

“Click the red button “ he instructed. As I did, the engine roared to life. The sound was electric. High pitched and full of fury. It sounded like energy fighting to be released. “OK push the throttle” he continued. I looked at him blankly. “It’s the trigger, pull the trigger with your finger, slowly”. He coached. “Wait you do it” I said apprehensively, handing him the remote. “No, No, just relax. It wont fly. Not now. It’s attached to the launch pad”, he assured me. He came around the table and stood just behind. Reaching around me to supporting my hand with his he gently squeezed my trigger finger giving rise to a loud zinging noise causing the rotors at the front to spin so fast it disappeared. The small plane made a sound a hundred times louder than expected and my excitement mounted as Hussain pulled my finger further back causing the plane to shake and rattle the launch pad clips holding it down. I began to scream excitedly but my own voice was drowned out by the sound of the planes engine roaring. A few seconds later, Hussain reached over and pressed the red button to kill the engine. The sound quietened slowly until just the winding of the rotors remained as they lost momentum.

“Jeez that was awesome” I said excitedly my pulse still racing. Hussain looked proud and satisfied. “SO i haven’t been wasting my time then, hey?” he asked sarcastically. “Well that depends…” I said playfully, “..on when I can fly it”. I remember seeing him putting the engine together some time ago, and I don’t know why I didn’t realize then, that it wasn’t just a model. Surely a model didn’t need a working engine. The sound of the engine really excited me and Hussain seemed to be noticing. “Im nearly done, so it will be ready very soon”. “Do you need some help?” I offered immediately, clearly still affected by the amazing display I witnessed. “I have mostly engine tuning to do , and besides don’t you have somewhere to go later?”

excited

Leave a Reply

