CHAPTER 11 (continued)

Posted: June 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 transformation definition

 

Let me tell ya. You gotta pay attention to signs. When life reaches out with a moment like this it’s a sin if you don’t reach back… I’m telling you.”
Matthew Quick, The Silver Linings Playbook    

 

“Assalamu Alaikum” I say into the receiver.

“Farnaz, Dikra. Wa Alaykum Salaam, my child. How are you?” It’s the welcomed voice of my mother in law.

“Alhamdulillah, mummy” I say. “How are you?” I ask in return.

“Argh, you know my allergies have been troubling me , but otherwise I’m ok. Bhen Gori said I must rinse my nose with borie and water. So I’m going to start doing that tomorrow”.

“But ma, I told you just to get a nasal spray from the pharmacy. You need an antihistamine. It works well. Sameera used to suffer with her sinus when we were young and even get migraines. Now she says one spray for the day and she is fine” I advised.

“Ooh Farnaz, let me see how this borie works, then I will try the spray. You know the old people they never had fancy antihippo…” she paused.

“antihistamines” I offered again with a smile in my voice.

“Ya, all these drugs. Makes us more sick than before”. My mother in law loves her home remedies. She doesn’t even take a pain killer. Her spice cupboard is as good as a pharmacy for her.

“How’s my Husain?” She always asks me that, even though she calls him regularly herself.

“Er.. he’s ok” I said wondering if Hussain has told her anything about our strained marriage. I know he rarely does say anything to her about our marriage but she is a perceptive woman.

“Farnaz, you both are under so much pressure and you are both working so hard. You must try and slow down and relax” she said.

“Working keeps me busy” I said wondering how I could hold on to my sanity without a job to keep me busy.

“Men are weak, Dikra” she says, “They are not like us. They need us to look after them and make sure they are ok. You know daddy won’t even eat if I am not there to dish up and warm the food. Then he’ll blame his hunger on me”. She says with a chuckle, and I wonder if making my father in law completely dependant on her is actually a good strategy. The similarities between Hussain and his father are pretty obvious.

“Hussain told me you went to a party on Sunday” she said hanging her words in the air.

“jee.” I reply. “It was a client of mine” I said.

“I’m so happy that you two are getting along now. You know my heart breaks for you children. But I’m so glad you guys are happy again”. Her comment made me wonder. Did he tell her we are happy? That is not exactly the word I would have used.

“He even told me that he enjoyed the time with you after so long. I couldn’t make him stop talking. I was shocked Farnaz, you know that son of mine never tells me anything usually.” she took a breath, she obviously had something to get off her chest.

“He said you sold a fancy house and you are doing so well.” She sneezed. “argh, I keep telling Mariah to dust out the carpets everyday. You know if you don’t sit on their heads, nothing gets done right”.

“Anyways Hussain seemed happy on Monday when I spoke to him. He said he is so proud of you Farnaz, but I’m sure he told you.” Not waiting for a response she continued, “Haa my heart felt so nice when I heard that. It seems like you two are getting back on track.Im so happy for you Dikra.”

HUH? What? I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. My eyes began to burn. Did he really say that? Is he proud of me? It struck a tender nerve.

“Oh and Hussain said he made a decision” she said suddenly followed by an ominous silence.

 

Leave a Reply

