CHAPTER 10 (continued)

Posted: May 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

transformation definition

It was only after my final matric exams that I saw him again. He looked different. He was matured and energetic.

“did you miss me” he asked cheekily as he stood at the door, flashing that smile.

He came to take my mother and me out to celebrate. She couldn’t come but surprisingly urged us to go. That day, he proposed to me. He was clean and drug free and that I was the reason he decided to change. “I’ll never touch drugs again Hasina. I promise, that’s all over” ‘ he said. “I know what I want now. I want to marry you and have a life with you. You are the most important person in my life”. I was stunned. Apparently he had already spoken to my mother and Waseem. This guy was impressive. He leaned over and pulled out a ring with a diamond to die for. I had fallen for him, and he knew it.

We were married a year later and it was a blissful marriage. It was only until two years into my marriage that his bad habit rose its ugly head again. I had just found out I was pregnant. It was suppose to be a happy time and I played out the whole conversation in my head. It didn’t work out that way. As soon as I told him, he was dumbfounded. His face drained of blood. When I asked him what’s wrong and if he wasn’t happy about the pregnancy, he confessed everything. He had begun using drugs again. He said it was only occasionally. He had met up with some of his old friends and it “just happened” he said. He said he was happy about the baby and so determined to start over. I was furious. He not only lied to me, but he betrayed my trust. I wasn’t going to let him get away with it.

“How could you Yusuf?” I was furious. “It’s not just you and me now, I have another person to think about. You need to be responsible and tell me right now if you can do that”

He looked at me defeated. “im sorry Hasina, I was stupid. I will never do anything to hurt you or the baby, I promise. Its all over it. I will never do that any drugs again”

“you said that to me once before, how can I trust you now? I said, my tears threatening. “if you can’t be responsible, then don’t drag us into it” I put my palm on my stomach. “I can do this on my own, I don’t need you” I said, now really crying.

“No you cant leave me, Hasina” he pleaded. “I love you, Im so sorry, please give me a chance to me a good father. I will never let you down again. you are my world, please , I need you” he said clearly pained.

He kept to his word, and never even saw those friends of his again. The years passed by so quickly and so happily. I never doubted him all those years of marriage. Never… until now

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. amy says:

    Just read all the posts in one sitting, couldn’t put it down. Absolutely loving the story. Its very refreshing to read something different, while being able to relate to it at the same time. Keep up the good work. Will be looking forward to reading what happens next

Leave a Reply

