Chapter 5 (continued)

Posted: May 11, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

transformation definition

If you wait for things to be perfect, you walk away with NOTHING. Just jump in and get started.
Jennifer Ritchie Payette

My palms are sweaty against the phone receiver. There is definitely something wrong with this picture. It’s just a coffee date, I tell myself. I promised Husna that I would call Mumtaz. I had to try after all the effort she put into that Taalim day. I can feel my heart beating in my chest, and you would think that I was getting ready to call the white house. My nervousness was embarrassing. I took deep deliberate breaths and I kept looking through the kitchen window for any sign of Hussain’s car. The last thing I wanted was to have him walk in on my conversation with one of the ladies from Taalim. I sat on my high stool at my breakfast bar in my kitchen, with the piece of paper in my hands. It was the torn edge of the Tupperware pamphlet that has been living at the bottom of my handbag for a week. The numbers are just readable on the paper that has been folded and unfolded about a hundred times since I got it. I stared again at the ten little numbers. Maybe the number will be busy, I think. Or she doesn’t have her phone with her and she’ll miss my call. I straightened up in the chair and took a deep breath. Then a thought of a different kind came to mind. What if she answers her phone? I began rehearsing what to say in my head. SHIT everything I thought sounded stupid. What if they were just being polite offering me to come along for the coffee date? What if they are having coffee right now when I call? I put my mobile phone down and decided to get a glass of water.

This is crazy I think. How many times have I phoned total strangers and made them do what I want. Of course that was business. Building contractors, lawyers, clients, health inspectors- I called them all without a second thought. I decide to treat it like a business call. A meeting at a coffee shop, YES! I have had many of those. Start off with small talk, I think. Maybe I will ask about the Tupperware party that I missed. I laugh at the thought.  It’s should be so simple. My rational adult self was beginning to return- thank goodness. Here goes nothing, I said to myself. I stretch over the kitchen counter to pick up my mobile phone. My hand hesitates for a moment over the phone and like something from a scary movie – It begins to ring – startling me. Just great I think once I recover. I fold the small piece of paper with the number and put it back in my bag. After all of that… someone is calling ME.

Image

Leave a Reply

